Image

As you may have deduced based on my TV Detox post, or the fact that I filled my wardrobe with elastic waist pants in anticipation of living in close proximity to Krispy Kreme Donuts, I’m not so great with the willpower. On a scale of Lindsay Lohan to Buddhist Monk, I’m leaning towards Lindsay’s entourage.

Try as I might to moderate creature comforts and take up healthy habits, I still spend a disproportionate amount of time in my pjs. How is this possible? I work from home.

At the risk of conjuring up the image of a scruffy guy in sweats, a trucker hat and a cheetos-stained t-shirt living in his mother’s basement (ok, that’s exactly what I wanted to conjure), at times I’ve gone 48 hours or more without leaving my apartment with no justifiable excuse. By now, I look like I could star in Twilight. And I don’t like it.

I don’t stay in as a relaxing treat, I stay in cause I’m lazy, or stressed, or cause I failed to plan my schedule wisely. Most of all, I stay in cause no commute to the office is forcing me to do otherwise.

That’s why the David Suzuki Foundation’s 30 x 30 Nature Challenge has come at such a great time. At the end of the month, I celebrate my quarter century birthday and I think one last push at self-improvement is in order. So for all of May, I commit to spending at least 30 minutes a day in nature.

I’m looking forward to it. Though decidedly a city girl, I love being in nature. Some of my best travel experiences have been outdoors, where I’ve pushed my limits and stopped to smell the hibiscus. My favourite sound in the world has to be waking up to birds chirping after a long Canadian winter. This is going to be good.

 

Are you laughing? You think 30 minutes a day outside sounds easy? Prove it. There’s still time to sign up at http://30×30.davidsuzuki.org/

 

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to prepare a picnic.

