This is going to be a short one.

In the very productive time I’ve spent on Twitter today, I came across an interesting blog post by Kat Inokai Pembleton entitled 50 Things I Need to Tell my Kids.

It’s exactly what it sounds like: a list of 50 things the blogger wants her kids to know. While I don’t have kids, I still found it to be a worthwhile read. Not necessarily for Kat’s morsels of advice (as useful as they are) but because of the exercise in and of itself.

I’ve often thought about the things I’d tell my younger self or girls today, now that I’ve gained some precious perspective. (Now whether they’d listen to me is a whole other story). By doing so, I bring my focus back to the things that matter and am reminded to implement the life lessons I’ve gathered along the way.

While keeping up with this seemingly endless juggling act we call life, taking the time to identify what really matters might cede the way to 101 distractions. It’s a shame, ’cause I’ve yet to regret unplugging long enough to do so.

What 50 things do you want your kids to know to make their lives easier, happier or more meaningful? What would you tell the ‘you’ from 10, 20 or 30 years ago now that you’ve had some time to think? What lessons to live by have you forgotten to live by?

Care to share?

